District 1, Joe D. Thompson
District 2, Pat Hall
District 3, Tron Stegman, Chairman

Commission Meeting Hours:  1st & 3rd Mondays – 8:30 a.m.

  • Commission Meeting Minutes 1/7/2019 - COMMISSIONERS PROCEEDINGS JANUARY 7, 2019 Agenda:          8:30 – Bills 8:45 – Rodney Kelling:  Non-elected personnel 9:00 – Extension – Agreement of terms for districting 9:30 – Longevity gifts 9:45 – IT choice for 2019 year:  Gilmore Solutions or NexTech 10:00 – Surety Bond: Omissions discussion 10:30 – First of year Resolutions/Motions/Appointments   The Board of

    Continue reading

  • Commission Meeting Minutes 12/17/2018 - COMMISSIONERS PROCEEDINGS DECEMBER 17, 2018 The Board of County Commissioners met in regular session with Joe D. Thompson, Pat Hall and Tron Stegman.  Also present were Paul Kitzke, County Attorney; Amy Jo Tharp, County Clerk and RoGlenda Coulter with the Hugoton Hermes.  Joe called the meeting to order.  The minutes from the previous meeting were

    Continue reading

Commission Meeting Proceedings: from 2003 to current

Duties of Commission

The Stevens County Commissioners are vested by Kansas State Statute 19-212 with both legislative and administrative powers and duties. These powers and duties include the following.

1. Supervision of county property
2. Organization of township following statutory procedures
3. Control of the financial affairs of the county
4. Approval of the annual budget
5. Levying of county taxes
6. Designation of depositories for the County Treasurer
7. Construction and maintenance of county roads and bridges
8. Approval of land use and zoning policies for the county
9. Issuance of bonds
10. Awarding of contracts
11. Incorporation of cities
12. Creation of special districts
13. Setting of salaries of all county officials
14. Providing a jail, courthouse, office space, and supplies for all county officers and the district court
15. Appointment of members of various boards and commissions

The Commission also serves as the County Board of Canvassers for elections.

Time and Place of Meetings

The County Commission meets every 1st and 3rd Monday of the month at 8:30 a.m. in the County Commission Board Room located in the basement of the Stevens County Courthouse, 200 E. 6th, Hugoton, Kansas. All meetings are open to the public.

Joe D. Thompson – District 1

 Joe took office in January 2015, and he is currently serving in his second term as County Commissioner.

Joe is a lifelong resident of Stevens County. His wife Valerie is a teacher in Moscow. They have three sons; Jace, Jaron and Vance. Joe is a graduate of Moscow High School and West Texas A&M University.

Joe can be reached through the Commission Secretary at

200 E. 6th
Hugoton, Ks 67951
Telephone (620) 544-2541
Fax: (620) 544-4094



Pat Hall – District 2

 Pat Hall took office in January of 2013, he is currently serving his second term as County Commissioner.

Pat has lived in Stevens County Kansas his entire life. He graduated from Hugoton High School and attended college. Pat currently works for the City Of Hugoton.

Pat and his wife, LaDonna, reside in Hugoton and are very active in the community. Pat has three grown children Chase, Shalee and Kachia.

Pat can be reached through the Commission Secretary at

200 E. 6th
Hugoton, Ks 67951
Telephone (620) 544-2541
Fax: (620) 544-4094


Tron Stegman – District 3

Tron Stegman took office January 9, 2017 for his first term.

Tron is a life long resident of Stevens County. He is a full time farmer for the past 20 years.

He lives in the City of Hugoton with his wife Annie and their 3 boys.

Tron can be reached through the Commission Secretary at

200 E. 6th
Hugoton, Ks 67951
Telephone (620) 544-2541
Fax: (620) 544-4094